Catalogue item

Share this
Share on RedditShare on Google+Share on FacebookPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

Havergal BRIAN: Faust

Music drama in a prologue and four acts, 1955-56

Soloists: Gretchen (soprano), Marthe (mezzo), Faust (tenor), Michael (tenor), Raphael (tenor), Valentin (tenor), Mephistopheles (baritone), Schuler (baritone), Der Herr (bass), Gabriel (bass), Erdgeist (bass), Bösergeist, (bass)

SATB chorus

orchestra: 4 flutes (1 also piccolo), 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets, Eb clarinet, bass clarinet, 3 bassoons (1 also contrabassoon), 6 horns, 4 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, euphonium, timpani, cymbals, bass drum, 3 side drums, tambourine, triangle, castanets, tam-tam, wind machine, ruthe, bell in G, celesta, glockenspiel, xylophone, 2 harps, organ, strings

duration – c.2h 30′

text: Faust (part 1) Goethe, abridged by the composer and set in German with no English translation

Composer: BRIAN, Havergal
Title: FAUST
Instrument: soloist(s), choir & orchestra
How to order